Our cookies

We use cookies, which are small text files, to improve your experience on our website.
You can allow all or manage them individually.

Manage cookies Allow all

Our cookies

Allow all

We use cookies, which are small text files, to improve your experience on our website. You can allow all or manage them individually.

You can find out more on our cookie page at any time.

EssentialThese cookies are needed for essential functions such as logging in and making payments. Standard cookies can’t be switched off and they don’t store any of your information.
AnalyticsThese cookies help us collect information such as how many people are using our site or which pages are popular to help us improve customer experience. Switching off these cookies will reduce our ability to gather information to improve the experience.
FunctionalThese cookies are related to features that make your experience better. They enable basic functions such as social media sharing. Switching off these cookies will mean that areas of our website can’t work properly.

Save preferences

Our people


Volker Hömberg, Germany: President
Nam-Jong Paik, South Korea: President-Elect
David Good, USA: Past President
Caterina Pistarini, Italy: Secretary General
Dafin Muresanu, Romania: Treasurer
7 Members at Large
3 Adjunct Members
Tracey Mole, UK: Executive Director (non-voting)
Michael Barnes, UK: Chair of the Council of Past Presidents (non-voting)
Michael Thaut, Canada: Chairperson of SIG Committee (non-voting)

Members at Large

Iris Brunner, Denmark
Izumi Kondo, Japan
Matilde Leonardi, Italy
Nirmal Surya, India
Abhishek Srivastava, India
Haiqing Zheng, China

Adjunct Members

Wayne Feng, USA
Jorge Hernandez Franco, Mexico
Mayowa Owolabi, Nigeria

Regional Vice-Presidents

The WFNR has Regional Vice-Presidents across the globe who are responsible for promoting the WFNR in their own region and providing member support: 

Sub-Saharan Africa
Mayowa Owolabi: mayowaowolabi@yahoo.com 
Report May 2024
Annual Report 2022

North America
Wayne Feng: wayne.feng@duke.edu 
Report October 2020

South America
Lucia Braga: luciabraga@sarah.br 
Report May 2024
Annual Report 2023

Central America and Caribbean
Jorge Hernandez Franco: jhfranco@medicapolanco.com 
Report May 2024
Annual Report 2022

Paolo Tonin: patonin18@gmail.com 
Annual Report 2022

Eastern Europe
Dafin Muresanu:  dafinm@ssnn.ro

Central and Western Europe
Thomas Platz:  T.Platz@bdh-klinik-greifswald.de
Report May 2024

Sabahat Asim Wasti: WastiS@ClevelandClinicAbuDhabi.ae 
Annual Report 2022

South Asia
Nirmal Surya: suryaneuro@hathway.com 
Report October 2020

South East Asia
Witsanu Kumthornthip: wkumthornthip@yahoo.com 
Report May 2024
Annual Report 2023

Australia, New Zealand and Oceania
Tissa Wijeratne: twi@unimelb.edu.au
Annual Report 2022

WFNR Federation Council

The WFNR Federation Council consists of the Presidium and members not elected by the General Assembly:

Presidents (or nominated representatives) of National Societies that are formally affiliated with the WFNR
Editor of Neurorehabilitation and Neural Repair
Chair of Organising Committee for next World Congress.
Chair of Organising Committee of previous World Congress.
Chairs of WFNR standing committees 
Regional Vice-Presidents